Character Development

Caring, honesty, respect, and responsibility are the core values of the YMCA.

Character Development


The Y movement has been involved in character development from the beginning, emerging with four "core values" of caring, honesty, respect, and responsibility. Our core values are incorporated into all of our programs and services to ensure that our members are able to learn, grow and thrive.

Our commitment to character development strengthens our communities and the people we serve by building on this commitment and making it part of our everyday activities here at the Y. The four character values are:


CARING (red to represent the heart): To love others, to be sensitive to the well-being of others, to help others.

HONESTY (blue to represent “true blue”): To tell the truth, to act in such a way that you are worthy of trust, to have integrity,
               making sure your choices match your values.

RESPECT (yellow to represent the “golden rule”): To treat others as you would have them treat you; to value the worth of every
              living being, including yourself

RESPONSIBILITY (green to represent the environment and money): To do what is right, what you ought to do; to be accountable
                          for your behavior and obligations